Halal and Kosher Gelatin and Collagen

At Custom Collagen, we’re very conscious of the fact that not all clients are the same. Specific clients need to uphold the strictest of dietary restrictions and religious standards in their diets. In the case of kosher foods and products for those that practice Judaism, and halal practiced by Muslims, gelatin and collagen have proved a problem in the past. Our attention to detail in regards to these dietary inclusions sets us apart from other gelatin and collagen suppliers. We understand that these restrictions are especially important for those who specialize in halal and kosher gelatin products.

The Many Uses of Unflavored Gelatin and Collagen

Gelatin is used to produce a number of non-food items, such as adhesives, photography film, cosmetics and ballistic gelatin. Along with collagen, it also is used in a vast number of medical and health and wellness products. Both are used to make plastic surgery fillers, glue, strings for musical instruments, wound dressings and so much more.

When it comes to gelatin and collagen, not all communities can use the products you may create. If your products are not made with halal gelatin and collagen, or kosher gelatin and collagen, you’re excluding many potential customers who may benefit from your products. If you want to be more inclusive with your offerings to address the needs of those who need halal or kosher foods and daily living items, Custom Collagen is here to help. Continue reading to find out how we at Custom Collagen ensure our halal and kosher gelatin and collagen meet the dietary restrictions of all communities.

What is Halal Gelatin or Collagen?

In Arabic, the word “Halal” means lawful or permissible. It is primarily considered to be the dietary guidelines outlined by the Quran and is an Islamic law practiced by Muslims worldwide. In the Muslim community, this term can relate to every aspect of their daily lives, including the use of any everyday products. That means, in addition to food, makeup, health and wellness products, all medicines, food ingredients and food contact materials need to be certified as halal — hence the need for halal gelatin.

In opposition to this, there is “haram,” which means unlawful or forbidden. If a product is not certified halal, it is considered haram and therefore forbidden to be used. If the status of a food item or consumer product is questionable or unable to be determined, it’s then classified as “Mushbooh,” which Islamic law suggests Muslims should avoid. Most gelatin products are considered haram, especially if their source is pork or an animal that was not processed according to Islamic law. However, if the gelatin’s source is certified halal, then the gelatin itself is halal and can be enjoyed by all. These same guidelines apply to the use of collagen.

Is Gelatin Halal?

More often than not, foods and products containing gelatin are considered mushbooh because most gelatin manufacturers don’t disclose the origin of their ingredients. Gelatin is made from the proteins in the bones of animals. Many manufacturers combine animal bones from both halal and haram animals, making it non-permissible for Muslims to eat or use. In order to create halal gelatin, it must be prepared according to Islamic laws – a precise process.

Custom Collagen is the answer to the questionable nature of gelatin. Our halal gelatin products can be requested to be certified halal and come from 100% guaranteed halal animals. No guesswork is needed. If you’re not familiar with the concept of halal, there may still be some ambiguity that needs further explanation. Is beef gelatin halal? What about fish? The answer to both questions is yes. Both beef and fish are considered halal when prepared according to Islamic laws. You can purchase unflavored halal gelatin for dairy manufacturing and various other products with ease. When ordering, you can specify to Custom Collagen the exact animal you’re looking for and request the halal gelatin to be custom processed per these laws.

Halal Collagen Powder from Custom Collagen

In the case of halal collagen powder, the same principles we use to create halal gelatin apply. Hydrolyzed collagen powder from Custom Collagen is guaranteed to be pure to ensure it meets halal standards, with no additional additives, preservatives or fat.

Is Gelatin Kosher? What About Collagen?

The term “kosher” refers to the types of food people who practice Judaism can eat according to the Torah, otherwise known as the Hebrew Bible. Kosher food can fall under three categories:

Dairy – Also Known As Milchig

This group covers products made with milk — butter, yogurt, cheese and dairy products in general. These products must come from kosher sources and cannot be made with meat derivatives. Kosher tradition stipulates that any meat cannot be consumed with dairy. This means most gelatins that cannot be certified as kosher are forbidden for use in kosher dairy products.

Meat – Also Known As Fleishig

This category includes mammals or fowl and the products made from them, like bones and broth. For meat to be considered kosher, it has to come from a cud-chewing animal with split hooves. Under kosher tradition, cows, goats and sheep are all considered to be kosher. Domesticated poultry like chicken, turkey, geese and Cornish hens are also acceptable; however, predatory or scavenger birds are forbidden.


Foods that aren’t meat or dairy are considered pareve. This includes fruits and vegetables, grains, fish, eggs, beverages, candy, snacks and more.

As for the permissibility of gelatin and collagen, in order for either to be consumed under kosher tradition, they must be made from kosher animals. Unfortunately, in most gelatin and collagen manufacturing processes, the details can get a little murky regarding how both products’ source animals were processed. At Custom Collagen, we can take guessing regarding kosher gelatin and collagen out of the equation. We offer unflavored kosher gelatin products and kosher collagen that can give you the peace of mind to use in your products.

What is Kosher Gelatin Made From and What Does Kosher Gelatin Mean?

Kosher gelatin is derived from bovine sources that have been kosher slaughtered and processed — or from kosher species of fish. At Custom Collagen, we carry marine-based kosher gelatin and collagen derived from 100% kosher tilapia fish. We understand that using a kosher animal is not what makes gelatin kosher; we also follow strict guidelines to ensure we’re putting out the best possible kosher products available. Our tilapia are farm-raised in purified water and undergo constant strict supervision.

We also carry kosher beef gelatin products certified by the KO Kosher Service, straight from farm- and pasture-raised sources. The OU Kosher Certification agency – the world’s largest kosher certification agency – stipulates that beef and fish-derived gelatin is considered pareve and can be used with dairy ingredients. This means our kosher gelatin and collagen can be used as kosher gelatin for meat processing, dairy manufacturing and various other uses.

Find the Unflavored Halal or Kosher Gelatin and Collagen You Need

Since 2011, Custom Collagen has carried Ko Kosher certification that classifies our fish and bovine gelatin/collagen products. With this certification, we can satisfy customers looking for affordable kosher gelatin or collagen to ensure their products meet strict dietary requirements. Our halal gelatin and halal collagen powder offer an amazing option for practicing Muslims to gain the many benefits of collagen and gelatin as well. We guarantee to provide the best products for all communities, prepared the way you and your customers require.

If you have questions about our halal or kosher product offerings, contact us today.

Shop Custom Collagen